To the cruelty of life

I beheld my tears

In the absence of light

I shattered my fears;

 

For when the light penetrated

through the wooden pale windows

and gently touched the ground,

We danced there slowly

in the absence of sound.

 

 

To the cruelty of life

I fail to utter words

In the absence of essence

I mused upon the absurd;

 

For when the light cracked

through my vacant vessel

and gently touched my heart,

I stood there silent

amid emotions torn apart.

 

 

To the cruelty of life

I have suffered, I have lived

instants gone with thought

to repress in memory

what my mind had sought:

 

Surreal beauty

arising from dust,

ecstatic romance

emerging from loss,

& a will to live

as death come across

 

Over the quest for essence

In abandoned anguish

Feeding over presence

I sought and sought.

 

 

Cruelty of life,

When time welcomes existence

as it creeps within my skin,

I am left with no choice

but to love it all

as it burns and burns

within.

Youssef Bouchi

